Brasilmagic\’s Weblog

Venting to the World

Slut shaming vs Class

There is a lot of shaming in shaming nowadays. The era of political correctedness became “you can’t shame this, you can’t shame that”. Fat shaming, gay shaming, slut shaming, etc. I want to discuss slut shaming. What men or women do with their bodies and how they lead their sexual lives is nobody’s business, really. When women dress sexy, men should be able to control themselves and not see that as a sign these women are up for grabs (pun intended).

Image

However, as the mother of two females, I see with sadness some behavior in young women that isn’t very attractive. And it reeks of desperation. Looking at Brazil, for example, or American reality TV, I see some women who will do anything to embarrass or devalue themselves. And that has little to do with how they dress. If there is one thing I think is still attractive in people, it is class. Good manners, respect. Sometimes women sell themselves short or think that sexuality alone will take them places, land them a rich or famous boyfriend or make themselves famous. That kind of fame is fleeting. The kind of men they will attract is not the desirable kind. Sexy and attractive young women are a dime a dozen in this planet, especially with all the body enhancements available. A Brazilian starlet (see picture above) humiliated herself for Portuguese soccer player Cristiano Ronaldo, planting herself in front of his hotel during the football World Cup in Brazil and following him around after saying she had had an affair with him. Another Brazilian uses nudity to become a famous piano player.

There is nothing less attractive than an over made-up woman who opens her mouth and talks trash….no education, culture or information. Intelligence is sexy, and class is just another name for self-respect.

June 18, 2014 - Posted by | Uncategorized

10 Comments »

  1. I guess the new “normal” for sex and sexy is still being defined. BTW, the COTUSA does NOT mandate separation of church and state. I am too lazy to look up the exact wording but it is something along the lines of there can be NO establishment of a state religion. Most of the early colonies were quasi-theocracies. BTW, having spent time in Brazil I was kind of surprised how religious most Brazilians I met actually were and how often they made reference to DEUS. I was also surprised at how many women smoke in Brazil. Overall though, I love Brazil and the Brazilian people and sometimes I wish I had been born and lived in Brazil, either in the SE or NE. Florianopolis or Fortaleza. I hope I get to visit once more, but I decided to stay away during the World Cup and the Olympics. Tchau…..

    Comment by Pasquale | June 18, 2014 | Reply

    • I am Brazilian male and I’ve lived in the United States for a year. The way I see things is that the Brazilian culture and the culture of the United States are surprisingly similar. The only difference is that North-Americans have, on average, more money the the Americans of the South. But with respect to personality traits, we resemble a lot.
      Wearing small and tight closes that show the shape of the body is not only a “South American” thing. In reality, you will find this everywhere in the world, with the exception of countries where it is illegal, as in parts of the middle east.

      To know a little about Brazilian culture written in English take a look at my blog:
      http://www.faelecrisopiniaoecultura.blogspot.com.br/

      If anybody wants a contact in Brazil that can actually speak English, leave a comment on my blog and I will respond.

      Comment by Rafael | April 16, 2016 | Reply

  2. I agree that there are matters of appropriateness and there are matters of right or entitlement. While one has the right to dress as they please without aggressive or legislated consequences, their choice may or may not be appropriate under the circumstances.

    And, BTW Pasquale, the COTUS clearly separates government action or approval from church dogma by the very clause you paraphrase. You agree that the U.S. Government cannot “establish” a religion. This is what separates church & state. We were founded as a country by peoples fleeing Great Britain’s established religion, The Church of England, whose oppressive laws they could not tolerate. Further, the founding fathers & drafters of the U.S. Constitution, including John Adams, have made it clear that our government was not founded on Christian principles.

    Comment by Clint | July 8, 2014 | Reply

  3. BTW, on SLUTS. Some men actually like women just a little on the trasy side. Just like a lot of men get excited by prostitutes, others get turned on by slutty women. Just reporting what I have seen in this world over the years. Bill Clinton comes to mind. Just sayin’

    Comment by Pasquale Ferrari | July 8, 2014 | Reply

    • OMG, I did read the article but that was two years ago. Hey I am getting old and forget a lot of things.

      Comment by pasquale | March 19, 2016 | Reply

  4. I think Andressa Urach is one of the Many Brazilian ladies I think are very hot!!! but why did she do that to herself?!
    for bad boy futebol play Cristiano Ronaldo???!!! its beyond me?!!

    Comment by rolandoaaron54 | July 11, 2014 | Reply

  5. I’ve just started reading your blog and I find it very interesting and insightful to say the least. I’m currently a government worker managing a small unit and recently began study international policy and even trying to learn Portuguese. My goal is to land a career in the international community in order to apply my economic and statistical background. My heart wants to be in Latin America, in particular, Brazil. However, I’ve been having no luck with meeting anyone from Brazil to network with. Any advice on how to connect with Brazilians? Would love to hear any suggestions!

    Comment by Manuel | March 16, 2016 | Reply

    • Brazilians have to be some of the most friendly people on earth to meet and will accept you with open arms. Google how do I meet Brazilians and I be you come up with some good sites. Try LinkedIN or whatever it is called. If nothing else go on personal sites and just read profiles and write them that you are just interested in making friends and acquaintances and I am sure you will meet men of women that will be glad to meet you for a cup of coffee. I have done it numerous times and made all over Brasil and when I met them they were gracious and open. Of course you always have to use common sense, but talk to them on Skype and exchange a few emails and I bet you will meet some nice people. Brazil is a treat and the people are wonderful.

      Comment by pasqualw | March 19, 2016 | Reply

      • That’s good Pasquale, you had a good experience!

        Comment by Brasilmagic | March 19, 2016

      • Absolutely. I love Brasil and wish I had become more acquainted much earlier in my life. I hope I get to visit the NE and I wish there were direct flights from the USA to Fortaleza. I don’t understand why I have to fly to Rio or SP and then back up to Fortaleza. It is so easy to fly to Columbia or even Lima or Quito and do not understand why it is so difficult to fly to most cities in Brasil. I have serious health problems and layovers in Rio or SP can make it an ordeal to fly to most cities in Brasil. Sigh….. I wish I could fly directly to Fortaleza, Natal, Maceio, or Joao Pessao.

        Comment by pasquale | March 19, 2016


Leave a Reply

