Brasilmagic\’s Weblog

Venting to the World

Twitter Addict

I have never become addicted to Facebook or Orkut. I would check it once in a while but I felt that I had to read too much junk from too many people. People called “friends” who I hardly knew.

When I first heard about Twitter, I immediately thought: “one more social networking website trying to compete with MySpace”. One day, I was watching “The View” when I heard the women talk about Twitter.  Their enthusiasm caught my attention and I decided to check it out.  In a matter of a few months, Twitter became my number one source of news as well as the website I most spend time on. The first thing I do when I wake up in the morning and the last thing I look at before I put my phone down at night, much to my husband’s displeasure 🙂

I now follow many people, most of them news outlets like CNN, where I get good information, the latest news and links to interesting articles right there and then. 

The evening Michael Jackson was pronounced dead, I was at the gym. I was reading my tweets in one hand and checking the news on the gym TV-which was still saying Michael Jackson had been rushed to the hospital. Looking at my tweets, I read MJ was already dead.  It took more than one whole minute for CNN to mention his death.  I can only imagine how the 9/11 news would have spread if Twitter already existed in 2001. Accounts from witnesses in real time.

I suppose the number of people I follow will increase to the point I will miss many interesting tweets, since I cannot be on the site all day. After all, there is always someone new and exciting to follow.

It may be a fad, but so far Twitter has affected my Facebook account, which I rarely check now, and this blog-greatly ignored. Let’s see how long will Twitter reign-and how long we will enjoy receiving several short messages one after the other. After all, everything has a cycle. AOL, Yahoo, MySpace…people always want something new.images

Update: my tweets are repeated on Facebook, so I am annoying my Facebook friends now 🙂

August 31, 2009 - Posted by | Lifestyle, Technology

1 Comment »

  1. You are right……

    Comment by Valaci | October 10, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

