Brasilmagic\’s Weblog

Venting to the World

The DC rally for David Goldman

I just came back from the rally. It was a miserable day in terms of weather, which was getting worse with each passing hour, but I was thrilled, as were the 2 friends that were there with me, to be there. The speeches, the posters, the press. I had the opportunity of speaking to Chris Smith, David’s father (Sean could not wish for a better grandpa!) and David’s sister (she has 2 kids Sean’s age, how cool is that, Sean will have cousins his age near him when he comes back!). I also talked to Bob D’Amico who was very nice too and informative. The only thing I missed was knowing who was who (we needed name tags), I did not feel confortable enough to ask everyone “Who are you on BSH?”. I met Mom25 because she is Brazilian like myself, and the guy whose daughter is in Brazil. I am sure if the weather were more pleasant everyone would have been more inclined to socialize more. We had to hold posters with one hand and the umbrella with the other! Hopefully NYC will have better weather next week for those who live there.

Still, my friends and I left the rally very very happy. We stopped for coffee and sandwiches because our toes were simply frozen. But we felt very good in going.

We were rained on too (not heavy rain, fortunately, but light drizzle) but the rally, as well as meeting David’s grandpa and aunt and David’s friends, only made me MORE determined to continue fighting for this case to be resolved.
PS: At the coffeeshop (Potbelly’s actually) we met 2 Brazilian tourists who had heard a little about the case. You know downtown DC there are always tourists. We talked to them about the rally, and guess what? One of the women lost her mother when she was a child and was raised by her grandma becasue her father was young and in those days Dad’s did not know how to raise girls. Guess what? From this woman’s mouth, she said she always wanted to live with her Dad, who later remarried, and he wanted too but did not have the courage to take her away from the old grandma. She said she longed for her Dad all her life. She was a pretty upbeat woman. We told her and her friend to go bacl to BR and spread the word about David.

See picture below:

That is me with the light grey umbrella and the white button on my coat, long blonde hair.

March 14, 2009 - Posted by | World Events/News

2 Comments »

  1. Dear Reader[s]:

    I’ve been listening to Sean Goldman’s case, his father’s struggles dealing with the both authorities Brazilian and American and what “we” call law. I feel sorry for him and most for his son who is a victim in the middle of adults decision involving his life and his future. In one hand the American people think that Sean’s best interest is to be with his biological father, and I can’t agree more on that… my reasons in this case is to ask what went wrong during the time that Sean’s mother decided to keep him in Brazil apart from his father. What did Sean’s father do for Bruna to act like this?
    In terms of the laws here in the United States and in Brazil, it is my opinion that the issue regading to law it needs changes and it needs changes fast in order for victims like Goldman’s and other including myself enforce the authorities make the right decision involving the lives of grieved parents and their children. And we also need to come to an equal terms in regarding patriotism. I read the stence on the Web about Sean Goldman’s case, saying: “venting to the world.” I find that the setence venting to the world to be harsh and unresoanable in respect to the public’s right to express their opinion in subject-matters that is ruled against the law. In The United States, too many experts as doctors, psychologist and other have this so called authority to insert an opinion on issues of custody, and most of these opinions are based on issues that is prohibited under the Discrimination Act, as: national origin, color, education, choice of religion and many other factors that are not included with clarity under the discriminaiton act.

    I am a mother of a 14 years old child [ dual citizenship – American and Brazilian ] and would like to know if there is anyone out there interested to get my case involved in support of the Sean’s. I have not seen or speoken to my child since May 2000. She lives in the USA. It is my understanding under Constitutional law, if a group of aggieved peole for the same subjet-matter, can file a petition for Congress to enforce laws not been provided to the victims or creat a new law allowing remedies to resolve the problem. What do you think? Please let me know, my name is Lenir Richardson, and my email is lenirrichardson2002@yahoo.com. Thank you.

    Comment by Lenir Richardson | November 17, 2009 | Reply

    • Lenir, I invite you to come to http://www.BringSeanHome.org and tell your story. There are people there who can help you and many parents in your situation. Taking a child away from a parent is a horrible thing to do. I can only imagine what you are going through.

      Comment by Brasilmagic | November 17, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

