Brasilmagic\’s Weblog

Venting to the World

Lonely in America

Many Americans are very lonely. I know a lot of lonely folks. The urban sprawl has made the suburbs places into  where people do not congregate. You ride cars, enter your house, turn on the TV. You see big houses with one or two people living in them. I can only imagine all those empty rooms. You see a lot of divorced men and women who are unable to remarry or find a new partner living alone.

In Brazil, even if you live alone, you don’t feel lonely. You come downstairs to from your apartment to the streets and you see people everywhere. How can you get depressed with that? Cities are full of life. Warm weather most of the time. People laughing, talking animatedly.  The older I get, the less I enjoy cold weather.

One solution to the American “suburbanitis” is the new trend of opening town centers, restoring the feeling of old downtown, where people can walk and interact. The MD/VA area has several, like Reston Town Center, The Kentlands and the Rio in Gaithersburg. We need more of those. We also need to bring workplaces out to the suburbs to alleviate the heavy commute many people in these big urban areas have.

So…I decided that when I retire, if my husband wants to join me, I want to go to a warm place. And if I become a widow first, I will also move to a tropical place with lots of humans around 🙂

 Can anyone give me some ideas? Costa Rica? Rio? Miami? Cote d’Azure? Ibiza? It all depends on how much money I will have to survive then…

I know someone who moved to Florida but did not like it.  This person claimed there were too many rednecks and old people (no offense to each of these groups :)).  So give me some ideas of places to retire for old women..I am open to suggestions.

Hilton%20Hawaiian%20Village.jpg

Waikiki, Hawaii

October 29, 2008 - Posted by | Difference between cultures

2 Comments »

  1. Sint Maarten/St. Martin

    Comment by Pete | October 30, 2008 | Reply

  2. Thanks!

    Comment by Grace Farrell | October 30, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

