Brasilmagic\’s Weblog

Venting to the World

Whatever happened to the 2 inch heel?

I am tall. I do not wish to be taller than the world when I wear heels. I also wish to walk without feeling I am walking on sticks or that I will lose my balance any time. However, I am not a flat shoes kind of woman (unless I am at the gym, walking at the mall, at work).  When I go out, I like the flair some heels give to a woman. That said, I cannot find any pretty shoes with 2 inch heels anymore. Even 2 1/2. I did find them in Brazil, but store owners here in the MD/VA/DC area either think the population is made of midgets or that all women are traditional soccer moms wearing khaki bermudas.

Whenever I wear my around 2 inch Brazilian shoes here, people stop to compliment me. And anytime I try to wear 3 to 4 inch heels, I know they will be on the back of my closet for good.

They look great at first sight, but they kill your feet.  Try walking with them on uneven sidewalks. Try standing on them an entire night (or dancing).try walking on marble floors. I am always afraid I am going to twist my ankle and wear a cast for a whole month.

 After a certain age, our feet bones shift. Shoes become more unconfortable. Confort and good quality materials like leather become more important.

Shoes used to come from Brazil or Italy. Now they come from China. They are cheaply made. The Italian shoes still come, at a higher price. Shoe importers, please remember women like me who want to look good, wear the latest fashions but do not want to walk on sticks! Thanks!

4-inch red haute high heels from Christian Louboutin

September 22, 2008 - Posted by | Fashion

15 Comments »

  1. I tend to go with comfort when I get older, but I still love those cheap high heels I can wear for a while and just chuck them away after a while! 😉

    Comment by distinque | September 22, 2008 | Reply

  2. If you go to http://www.masoneasypay.com, you will find a great variety of 2-1/2 inch heels, leather, and many colors.

    Comment by Still Walking | September 27, 2008 | Reply

  3. I follow your posts for quite a long time and must tell that your posts are always valuable to readers.

    Comment by Ted Burrett | April 24, 2009 | Reply

  4. Hi,

    I feel the same way!!! But I have not had any luck finding nice 2-2 1/2 inch heel shoes….I was wondering if you could provide me with a website to a Brazilian shop, where I might be able to purchase the show online?

    Thanks,
    Luvs Shoes

    Comment by Luvs Shoes | May 4, 2009 | Reply

  5. YESSS! I thought maybe it was just me! I can’t wear flats and I can’t wear 3-4 inch heels. What happened to the 2 inch heels!?!?!

    Comment by Taster B | August 13, 2009 | Reply

  6. very well said & still very true a year later! i was just googling ‘2 inch heels’ & this article popped up! google also offered me a result titled: “Slutty, Sexy 5 1/2 Inch Stripper shoes @
    http://www.hotstrippershoes.com/“. this along with your opinion merely reaffirms my theory that whoever designs high heels these days must hate women. i’m sick of the twisted notion that we need to be nearly crippled by our shoes in order to look good. plus i’m 5’10 & tall enough as it is, so i see your point from that angle, too! it only takes an extra 3 more inches for me to tower over the majority of the population like a shooting guard for the nba. you’re awesome!

    Comment by jeanette | August 31, 2009 | Reply

    • Reply to all: unfortunately, I see very nice shoes which are not too tall (max. 3 inches) but they are from expensive imported brands. I also see them in Brazil. Try Mr. Cat. My daughter bought beautiful gold sandals there from this Rio brand with stacked heels, not too high and still sexy. Every shoe shop I enter in the Washington DC mall have either sky high break-your-ankle shoes or feel-like-falling-back flats. When are shoe importer/designers going to wake up?

      Comment by Brasilmagic | September 1, 2009 | Reply

  7. I so agree with you. I’ve been searching forever to find two inch heels since I am tall and don’t want those 3 an 4 inch heels. All the hot looking shoes are very high heels 😦

    Comment by Virgin | November 15, 2009 | Reply

  8. I alwasy buy my heels at http://www.thevividroom.com/bordello-shoes.aspx
    They have the best selection of 2 to 3 inch heels!

    Comment by Jane | January 20, 2010 | Reply

  9. I don’t know why it’s so tough to find cute, quality, comfortable, not-sky-high shoes, but it is! Have you tried zappos.com, bluefly.com, piperlime.com

    Comment by Venetian Glass Jewelry | February 26, 2010 | Reply

  10. OMG…you hit this right on target. I get really annoyed when I see all these cute shoes in 4 & 5 inch heels. There are lots of tall people that love shoes but wont risk looking like jolly green giant! Im 5’9 and when I were heels everybody just steers…it would be nice if they were steering at my shoes instead of my height…I figure the only way to were the tall ass heels are to hang out with a whole bunch of bball players and models…but don’t know any lol! Maybe I should look into starting my own line of shoes!

    Comment by telly | April 13, 2011 | Reply

  11. IM WITH YOU SISTER!!. Anything hire then 3 or 4 inches should come with a helmet

    Comment by anne | February 1, 2012 | Reply

  12. OMG … I totall agree i brook my ankle so i cant wear the 3 to 4 inch heels any more just trying to find cute, sexy shoes just like the nice 3and4 inches,in a 2 to 2/12 inch.

    Comment by gail | February 8, 2012 | Reply

  13. have you seen chromaticgallerie.com? they have lots of options in 2 inch heels. they are all the same style but in diffreent colors, materials and heel height – i’ve heard they are super comfy and am about to buy my first pair.

    Comment by Cecilia | December 17, 2012 | Reply

    • Thank you Cecilia!

      Comment by Brasilmagic | December 17, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

