Brasilmagic\’s Weblog

Venting to the World

What happened to AOL?

Back in the days when AOL was paid, it could be considered a decent place to get your news online. Not anymore. AOL has turned into a tabloid deceiving website. I still use AOL email because I have had it for 11 years (I remember AOL 3.0), and I still think that as an email it is easy to use and has a good spam fighter. However, the news, ah the news, has become a joke. Links that are meant to lure viewers to click on them under false pretenses, old news, links that take you to a website where the promised story does not exist..recently a headline read: “Why women are going nude”.  I clicked on it curious as to this new trend I was not aware of, only to end up in a beauty and make up page talking about the nude lipstick, and of course selling them too.

AOL has become part of the dumbing down of America. Constant headlines about unimportant starlets (who cares about Miley Cyrus, fabricated by her former-glory father?) and people that should not be newsworthy. Sales ads packaged as news.

AOL has some columnists that are to die for: of rage. They are weak and uninformed or prejudiced. With so many good bloggers out there, why can’t AOL find better ones for free?

I miss the old AOL. I guess when it becomes all about money than we all lose.

July 25, 2008 - Posted by | Society

4 Comments »

  1. I loved aol back in the day.Even, the chatrooms were fun. The mail was so great. Bring back my aol.

    Comment by JoyceEllaine | February 8, 2009 | Reply

  2. Yes, I agree. I cannot even get to my settings page (it won’t display anymore), the news is repetitive and stinks, the whole thing has gone bad. But…..I’ve had it since 1997 and my email is linked to alot of things. So I just grin and bear it.
    Sure wish the quality would come back!

    Comment by Lynn | April 18, 2009 | Reply

  3. AOL are crap …do not go near them

    Comment by Arsehole On Line | July 18, 2010 | Reply

  4. Who should I use instead?

    Comment by Frank | October 11, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

