Brasilmagic\’s Weblog

Venting to the World

American xenofobia in music?

For some reason, Britopop, with the exception of a few groups like the Beatles (duh) and U2, is more popular in Brazil than the U.S.  Since I am an 80’s girl through and through, I grew up listening to all these Britpop bands that hardly any typical American knows off. New Order, Pet Shop Boys, Depeche Mode, The Cult, The Communards, Echo and the Bunnymen, The Smiths, Monaco, Brian Ferry, Tears for Fears, Duran Duran….etc. That surprises me since the language is the same! Most likely it is American protectionism at play. The radio stations do not want to advertise foreign bands. So they cram Journey into your head. How often has anyone heard a French or Italian song in an American radio station? I will say never! I remember how in Brazil in the late 60’s and 70’s you could hear romantic Italian songs by Gigliola Cinquetti, Franki Valli, anyone heard it in America?

Satellite Radio has changed that with its diverse stations, but for some reason it is not that popular (I think people have a hard time paying for music in a monthly basis, it seems so superfluous especially in a declining economy).

When I go to Europe or Brazil I love turning on the radio stations. Ah, finally some good music! I confess I am also a fan of cheesy Europop. And here in the US I STRUGGLE to find one station I like.  How come there are no dance radio stations in the whole DC area?

July 9, 2008 - Posted by | Music

1 Comment »

  1. Somewhere you said that your husband doesn’t like Brazilian music because he can’t understand the lyrics. Give him instrumental music, like Abdias! Ha! 😀

    Comment by Rita | August 21, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

