Brasilmagic\’s Weblog

Venting to the World

Can boys become gay by playing with dolls?

Can boys become gay by playing with dolls?

As I was writing my post about the new SATC movie, I made a comment about playing with dolls. A few days ago while watching The View (thanks to my DVR!), I heard Whoppi Goldberg (Whoopi and Joy Behar, I love you both!) making a comment about how parents allow girls to play with trucks but do not like boys to play with dolls. I guess the fear of making their sons become gay takes over? Is it possible that by playing with dolls a boy will grow up to become a homossexual and only feel attracted to other men?

My guess it is nonsense. Homossexuality is predisposed. I have seen boys who later became homossexuals and they were already different from other boys from an early age. They had similar traits to girls. So when a parent gives a doll to a boy to play, two things may happen: he can toss it aside and go back to building blocks or pushing his toy truck or his plastic lamborghini or he can become a more sensitive man in the future, one more aware of his emotions and more sensitive to women’s needs. He will not see these traits as weaknesses and will not be afraid to cry. If he holds a baby doll as a little boy, he may feel more inclined to take care of his own child and be more nurturing. So give kids all kinds of toys, do not stereoptype and don’t think it is ok to give girls cars and not give boys dolls. I had two daughters who played with legos and everything else, so unfortunately my time is over to follow my own advice 🙂

June 2, 2008 - Posted by | Being a mother

5 Comments »

  1. I played with my sister’s dolls when I was young. However, I didn’t nurture them. They were superhero dolls or like airplanes. Give a boy a doll and he may play with it–just not the way one would expect.

    Comment by Robert | June 27, 2008 | Reply

  2. I guess some stuff is just biological, we cannot change it.

    Comment by Grace Farrell | September 22, 2008 | Reply

  3. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.

    Comment by sandrar | September 10, 2009 | Reply

    • Thanks Sandra. I have abandoned my blog lately because of time issues, and Twiiter has robbed me of time as well :). It’s easier to tweet from a PDA than to write entire posts. Feel free to ask my opinion about something. I try not to discuss much politics in this blog, since there are too many political blogs. I like to talk about mundane things that affect our lives, perceptions, ideas.

      Comment by Brasilmagic | September 10, 2009 | Reply

  4. xuse me!
    when i was child i use to play with dolls
    n m gay now!can u tell me reason y m i gay?

    Comment by aly | July 7, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

